Proprioceptive Activities: Who, what, where, when, why,…and how?

I had many questions surrounding the proprioceptive system, the first being, “What the heck is it?”  Now, it’s been a long time since I sat in an anatomy class, but I still recall bits of information and terminology…skeletal system, nervous system, digestive system, immune system, and the list goes on.  What I never remember learning about was the proprioceptive system..maybe I would have gotten to that in the second anatomy class because it is actually developed by the nervous system. Amazingly, it plays a HUGE part in our ability to interact with our environment by providing us with a subconscious awareness of body positions. Basically, if it is working right, the proprioceptive system will provide necessary signals that allow our bodies to automatically adjust to different environments, situations, and stimuli. When it is not working properly …well, it’s easy to see how many situations/tasks can become difficult, if not impossible (without interventions, therapies, and supports of course).

While searching for a topic for my Genius Hour Project, I tossed around several ideas. I did this all while adding various low tech AT tools to my new collection.  One particular activity that I wanted to include in my tool box was Pennies in the Putty. I saw a similar activity used by an occupational therapist as she worked with a child with autism to increase his fine motor skills. I thought, “What kid doesn’t like playing with putty”, right? So, it was at some point during my search for activities used to increase fine motor skills that I came across the word proprioception. So naturally my question for my Genius Hour Project evolved into a cluster of interrelated questions:  Who may benefit from proprioceptive activities (also who can teach them), what activities help increase proprioceptive awareness, where can these activities take place, when should activities take place, why should proprioceptive activities be integrated into the classroom and beyond, and how can I use these activities to increase the functioning of individuals with proprioceptive processing disorders?

I believe educators and parents can both benefit from increased knowledge of the proprioceptive system and activities that can enhance it’s functioning. These activities are not only designed for individuals with disabilities, but can be used inclusively with all students. Various activities can encompass all ages of students from K-12.

For information on proprioceptive and sensory processing disorders, I looked through scholarly articles and educational sites. For ideas on related activities, my first stop was Pinterest!  I will share the specifics in upcoming additions!

Leave a comment